The ancient village of Les Camoins
An ancient village, the Camoins district in Marseille boasts a certain charm with its small streets lined with houses and the passage of the canal de Marseille where the water of the Durance flows, recalling its appearance of yesteryear. The history of Les Camoins dates back to the 15th century, when its founder, Jean Camoin, settled here with his wife and rebuilt some of the buildings. The land was subsequently divided between his heirs. In 1530, when the village numbered 150 parishioners, it was decided to build a church: the Sainte Agathe church, still standing today following restoration work. After passing through the hands of several lords, by the 17th century the village had over 600 inhabitants, but was hit hard by the plague. In 1811, Les Camoins water was defined as a source of calcic sulfurous water, and was declared to be of public utility in 1862.