The City Hall

The Town Hall’s current site was occupied by the Maison de Ville where traders and consuls gathered from the 13th century then the Palais Commual in the 15th century. The Town Hall was only built in the 17th century. It was the symbol of the city’s new political status commissioned by Louis XIV who awarded the city’s management to county magistrates and changed the port regime. This beautiful baroque building built by Mathieu Portal and Gaspard Puget owes much to Marseille architect Pierre Puget. What made it unique was separating the traders on the ground floor and the county magistrates on the first floor. 

The Pavillon Puget was listed as a Monument Historique in 1948 and now houses the Mayor and Deputy Mayor’s offices.

The underground layout of the neighbouring square by the architect Franck Hammoutène saw the foundation of the Espace Villeneuve-Bargemon, awarded the French Equerre d’Argent prize for architecture in 2006. The new site houses the Council, offices and a large museum space.

Our suggestions