The old port
Marseille’s history has been performed on the Old Port for 26 centuries. During Antiquity and the Middles Ages, the Greek (Massalia), Roman (Massilia) and Medieval (Masiho) city expanded on the northern bank and to the south in the 17th century. Entry to the port was henceforth guarded by two forts, Fort Saint-Nicolas and Fort Saint-Jean.
One of the iconic symbols of the Old Port was the transporter bridge, a metallic structure opened between both forts in 1905 which, unfortunately, was destroyed after the war.
The Old Port was renovated in 2013 (easier access to the port, less traffic, the Ombrière created by Norman Foster). To this day, the Old Port is the beating heart of Marseille.
The Ferry Boat which was so dear to Marcel Pagnol sets off from the Town Hall several times a day across the Old Port. It launched in June 1880 and thus began the famous Mairie-Place aux Huiles journey. In 2010, a more eco-friendly Ferry Boat with an electric solar propeller took to the water. Now two ferry boats share the Old Port.
Saint- Ferréol les augustins
The Knights Templar commandery stood on the site of the church in the 12th century. After the suppression of the Order and the disappearance of its members, Augustinian monks bought the buildings in 1369. They began building the gothic church which was consecrated in 1542 but only completed in 1588. The Italian-style bell tower dates back to the 18th century. It was built as a parish in 1803 in the name of Saint Ferréol in memory of the collegiate of the same name which was destroyed in 1794 (where the administrative centre now stands). The building originally had 5 bays and 12 lateral chapels but urban planning destroyed two of the bays in 1804. After the opening of Rue Impériale (now Rue de la République), cement worker Désiré Michel created the new Neo-Baroque façade.